Back to All Events

Poetry Competition - call for submissions

KSP’s national poetry competition offers cash prizes and certificates. We will also publish all WA winners in our end of year anthology, with contributors to receive a free copy at the launch in December.

Poetry Competition
Open to Australian residents and citizens only
5.00pm AWST Friday 29 September 2017

Adult KSP Poetry Awards
Youth KSP Poetry Awards (12 to 20 years)
Annette Cameron Encouragement Award

* The Annette Cameron Encouragement Award is for WA-born or current WA residents over the age of 18 who have never published a full collection of poetry either in print or online. This award is sponsored by KSP-member and Poets@KSP member Flora Smith in memory of her cousin Annette Cameron, life-long friend of Katharine Susannah Prichard.

ADULT & ANNETTE CAMERON: 1 poem $10; 2 poems $15; 3 poems $20

Line Counts
YOUTH: Max 50
ADULT: Max 50
How to Submit
Prepare a digital document using Arial size 12 font (one-sided)
Post to KSP before the deadline together with a signed and fully completed entry form
Place in an A4-sized (C4) envelope and address to:
KSP Poetry Awards, 11 Old York Road, Greenmount WA 6056
*subject to discretion of judge*
First place certificates with $300 prize for open and $100 for youth
Second place certificates with $150 prize for open and $50 for youth
Annette Cameron Encouragement Award for an unpublished WA poet with $100 prize
Up to five commended certificates for both open and youth
Mundaring National Young Writers encourgement award for under 14s with $25 prize
All winning entries offered publication in Swan Magazine
Select entrants invited to read their story at KSP’s End of Year Awards Ceremony
2016 Competition Judge: Prof. Dennis Haskell
2017 Competition Judge: TBC

Dennis Haskell is the author of seven collections of poetry, the most recent 'What Are You Doing Here?' (University of The Philippines Press, April 2015) and 14 volumes of literary scholarship and criticism. His new collection, 'Ahead of Us', was published by Fremantle Press in March 2016. 

He is the recipient of the Western Australia Premier’s Prize for Poetry, the A A Phillips Prize for a distinguished contribution to Australian literature (from the Association for the Study of Australian Literature), and of an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from The University of Western Australia. In June 2015 he was made a Member of the Order of Australia for 'services to literature, particularly poetry, to education and to intercultural understanding'. He is currently Chair of the Board of writingWA.

Earlier Event: September 15
Memoir Competition - call for entries
Later Event: October 12
2017 WA Regional Arts Summit